I've been gone from my internship for a week now, but it feels forever ago. I also know I promised a wrap up overview thing. I can't guarantee I can do it in one shot, but I'll start it now.
The first few weeks of my internship, I was not sure I was going to make it. I had no idea what I was doing, The Doc wasn't around a lot, and I felt like I was a burden to X and Q. I hated it, I hated not knowing what I what I was doing or what what the procedure was or what the different parts of the fly was. I had a lot of posts tagged struggle bus or difficult, and it truly was. And then there was Day 12. Day 12 was not a good day, no one was in the lab, I had no idea how to get in, and I was too afraid to ask anyone. I went back to my apartment, saw I had an email from The Doc saying she was out of town and wanted me to do something, and then I had a breakdown on the phone with my mom. That day I was ready to pack up and leave. But here's a TMI before I get my monthly burden I tend to get uncharacteristically over-emotional about something irrational/pointless/minor/not exactly important, and the next day guess what I got. Whether that break down was real or hormonal is a mystery. I do know I went back in and did what was required of me, and learned how to get in from C. My internship did not improve until both X and Q were out of the lab on vacation, which is kind of sad to say but true. I was forced to learn things on my own and figure out fly anatomy on my own.
I came into my own then. I was pretty boss at
(to be continued because I have other things I have to do)
No comments:
Post a Comment