Monday, August 5, 2013

Day Fifty-Seven

So I think I said oddly personal Monday yesterday.  So I've been thinking about relationships lately, like dating-type relationships.  I had never cared that I have never been in one, nor had I expressed an super-duper desire to be in one.  Recently though, like as of this summer it kind of made me more aware of the fact I'm single since everyone in my lab (for the most part) is wifed up.

I like using the term wifed up when I think about people in relationships, no matter the gender of the partners (male/male, female/female, male/female, etc.)  That's just want I do so deal.  Also this is gonna be a huge tangent.  So I don't exactly see the point in human relationships long term.  Sort of.  Monogamy is not that common in the animal world, most animals have multiple partners or just one for the breeding season and then changing it up the next.  Multiple partners creates sperm competition, meaning that the best sperm will be the baby daddy.  "Best" offspring and all that jazz.  Which is kind if why I don't understand why people look down on polygamists, at least from a biological stand point.  Usually courtship periods don't last too long either.  That's why people confuse me.  They date for eight years and then get married (and may or may not have kids before then) .  That seems kind of pointless to me.  Why not get married sooner?  Like dating for eight years is basically married?  And how long do you have to be with someone to know that they're the one?  A week? A month?  A year?  Ten years?  That's what I don't get.

So anyway I kind of want to be in a relationship, just for the experience.  I'm slightly jealous of some people around me (the HBB sister, my sister) who have boyses in their life.  I just want one, and then if it doesn't work out then I really don't need to be in another for awhile I think.

No comments:

Post a Comment