So I've been here for eight days already. A week and a day. Wow. Interning today went well, I knew what I was doing for the most part, and I had trouble on three. One of the three was from a genus where there were only five species, and it is not something there is seen a lot, there isn't even one in our collection! Since nothing earth shattering happened at internship, I'll talk about other things that happened today.
So I kind of made a friend today, Bus Friend. Bus Friend is a senior at a very good university, and is an environmental science major. I know where she went while she was abroad, what she does at her job, her experience in choir, what she's doing in her free time, and her home town. I know all these things about, but there is one thing I don't know...her name. We started talking one day at the bus stop after I got off the phone with my mom, I was talking about science classes and since she was also a science major...we talked. She seems really nice, and friendly. But I never introduced myself, and she never introduced herself, but yet we talked her whole bus ride (she gets off the stop before me). I'll try to introduce myself tomorrow or hopefully she does to me. Either way, I liked talking to her and I hope it'll continue.
Another issue I have relating to names is with The Doc. Everyone calls The Doc by her first name; X, Q, her boss, she even introduced herself to a mammal intern by her first name. So it should be a no brainer how to address her, right? Wrong! I don't feel comfortable calling her by her first name. This is because I don't feel like I have the right to. She has a PhD, she has worked hard for that title and gained a vast amount of knowledge in her field. I feel like even if she told me to call her by her first name, or even my adivsor told me to (and believe me, I call my adivsor all kinds of thing behind his back [cute/funny nicknames, nothing bad, I LOVE my advisor, he is da bomb]). I don't want to call her by her first name, but I feel awkward being the only person not calling her by the first name. It is something I'll have to figure out on my own.
And that is it for Day Eight! Stay tuned for Day Nine.
No comments:
Post a Comment